en     

20/05/2019

Dear member,

It has been a little more than six months since I became the new manager of Soliswiss. My first 200 days in office turned out to be rather eventful and challenging. In fact, the cooperative’s financial situation has not been splendid for quite some time now. Although, the management had already made decisive course corrections, Soliswiss could not yet manoeuver its way out of the vortex’ iron grip and reach calmer water. Indeed, Soliswiss’s situation at the end of 2018 was anything but positive. The constant changing of regulations crucial to our activities called parts of our business model into question. The effective number of members declined slightly.

Aare swimmers know that when you find yourself clutched by the merciless forces of the river’s backwater, you must let yourself be pulled below the surface, push yourself off diagonally so that you can then swim again with the current. In this vein, the Soliswiss team set about exploring the best direction to head towards and getting fit for the lifesaving push with all its strength, with the aim of getting back into the calm water as quickly as possible. As a result, we overhauled our strategy. We are now able to look to the future and to offer a real added value to our members. The strategy’s implementation is already well advanced and is beginning to bear fruit. Unfortunately, though, difficult decisions had to be taken along the way. We even had to make painful cuts with regard to our staff, including layoffs. We very much regret this, as each and every one of our employees always put their whole heart and soul into Soliswiss. For 2019, another deficit is still to be expected, as the measures implemented thus far will probably not produce immediate effects.

Rest assured that you, our members, will remain at the very center of attention. Indeed, we will continue to attach greatest importance to the solidarity among our members. We will focus on providing comprehensive advice for emigrants, Swiss nationals living abroad, travelers, globetrotters and returnees. It is particularly in this area that we will systematically develop and deepen our know-how. Several years ago already, we handed over our asset management operations to our professional partners. We are now doing the same with our insurance brokerage activities: Together with our partners, we will concentrate on providing our members with access to services and products that are tailored to the specific needs of the Swiss abroad.

We have not quite reached calm waters yet, but the course towards a better future has been set. At the upcoming General Assembly, we would like to introduce the Soliswiss that you got to know and love over the past years, but which has still become a little different, more focused and above all more down-to-earth. As you can see, there is a lot to be discussed. Therefore, we will not invite a guest lecturer this year.

On behalf of the Board of Directors, I cordially invite you to the General Assembly. We are very much looking forward to welcoming you in Berne on August 15, 2019.

All non-members and interested parties are also very welcome.

Limited number of participants – registration required.

Register

Archives

de     

20.05.2019

Liebes Mitglied,

nun ist es bereits etwas mehr als ein halbes Jahr, dass ich die Geschäftsführung der Soliswiss übernehmen durfte. Die ersten 200 Tage waren bewegt und herausfordernd. Die finanzielle Situation war ja bereits seit einiger Zeit nicht immer erfreulich. Die Geschäftsführung hatte zwar schon einige Kurskorrekturen vorgenommen, doch war es noch nicht gelungen, die Soliswiss aus dem Widerwasser zu lenken. Die Situation der Soliswiss Ende 2018 war alles andere als gut. Sich immer wieder ändernde Regulatorien stellten Teile des Geschäftsmodells in Frage. Die effektiven Mitgliederzahlen waren leicht rückläufig.

Als AareschwimmerIn weiss man, dass man sich bei Widerwasser unter die Oberfläche ziehen lassen muss, um sich dann kräftig schräg abzustossen, damit man danach in ruhigerem Wasser wieder mit der Strömung vorwärts schwimmen kann. So haben wir uns im Soliswiss-Team daran gemacht, die Stossrichtung auszuloten und uns fit zu machen für den Abstoss, mit dem Ziel möglichst schnell wieder gut im Wasser zu liegen. Als Resultat haben wir eine angepasste Soliswiss-Strategie, die es uns nun erlaubt, in die Zukunft zu blicken und unseren Mitgliedern einen Mehrwert zu bieten. Die Umsetzung ist schon weit fortgeschritten und trägt bereits erste Früchte. Leider waren auch schwere Entscheide notwendig, so mussten auch beim Personal starke Einschnitte, inklusive Entlassungen, gemacht werden. Dies bedauern wir sehr, da sich jeder und jede mit Herzblut für die Soliswiss eingesetzt hat. Für das Jahr 2019 müssen wir mit einem Defizit rechnen, da die ergriffenen Massnahmen nicht sofort greifen.

Auch in Zukunft stehen unsere Mitglieder im Zentrum. Weiterhin werden wir die Solidarität unter den Genossenschaftern und Genossenschafterinnen grossschreiben. Wir legen einen Schwerpunkt auf die umfassende Beratung für Auswandernde, Schweizerinnen und Schweizer im Ausland, Reisende, Globetrotters und Rückkehrende. Dort bauen wir Know-how gezielt auf. Schon vor einigen Jahren haben wir die Vermögensverwaltung an professionelle Partner übergeben. Das Gleiche tun wir nun mit der Versicherungsvermittlung. Wir konzentrieren uns darauf, mit Partnern unseren Mitgliedern Zugang zu Dienstleistungen und Produkten zu verschaffen, die auf die spezifischen Bedürfnisse der Schweizerinnen und Schweizer im Ausland ausgerichtet sind.

Noch sind wir nicht ganz im ruhigen Wasser angekommen, doch das Ruder ist gesetzt. An der Generalversammlung möchten wir Ihnen die Soliswiss vorstellen, so wie sie sie kennen und lieben gelernt haben und doch ein wenig neu, ein wenig fokussierter und vor allem bodenständiger. Es gibt vieles zu diskutieren, daher verzichten wir dieses Jahr auf einen Gastvortrag.

Im Namen des Vorstandes lade ich Sie ganz herzlich zur Generalversammlung ein. Wir freuen uns auf Ihre zahlreiche und aktive Teilnahme.

Alle Nicht-Mitglieder und Interessierte sind ebenfalls herzlich willkommen.

Begrenzte Teilnehmerzahl – Anmeldung erforderlich.

Anmelden

Archiv